King of Shadows – Weekly Update #36

Hey people, some more good stuff happening this week so let’s get into it.

Monday: Art
I had quite the nasty surprise when the project file of the piece I wanted to work on that day had become corrupted. I was able to steal an element from a screenshot I took of it, it was a pretty hacky method and the results weren’t perfect, but it was a part of the piece I really didn’t want to have to start over with.
Aside from the shoulder pads I took from the screenshot, I’m going to have to redo all of the digital side of the piece. It’s a bit frustrating, but I’ll be able to get it back to the point it was at before becoming corrupted.

Tuesday: 3D Modelling
This week I decided to work on a Super Smash Bros model edit, Pom Pom from Super Mario 3D World over Bowser Jr. A lot of the day was spent editing the Pom Pom model to match Bowser Jr’s skeleton and then rigging it so that the model could be posed. More on this further down.

Wednesday-Thursday: Major Project
I decided to try my hand at creating a levelling system for King of Shadows, where the player will gain experience by defeating enemies and more for extending attack chains. There’s still not much to show on it at this point since you’d pretty much just be looking at code. I really do hope to have progress that I can actually show on King of Shadows soon.

Friday: Minor Project
Unlike King of Shadows, I do actually have something to show on Sadistic Shapes. It isn’t a lot but still something I find pretty cool. Basically I was working on the Main Menu for Sadistic Shapes this week and as you’ll probably see in the video I had a lot of fun with it.

Saturday-Sunday: Fun Items
I’ve been doing more work on Pom Pom over the weekend and I’ve managed to get textures done for the most part. It’s currently at a point where I’m comfortable with creating a WIP page for it on Gamebanana, which is exactly what I have done so you can check it out here. It’s not complete but at this rate it should only take 3 weeks at most.

That’s all for this week, see you all in next week’s update and thanks for following the development of King of Shadows.

Leave a Reply

