King of Shadows – Weekly Update #32

Hey people, didn’t make a huge lot of progress overall this week but I did manage to get a few things going so let’s get into it.

As you may remember, I announced last week that I’ve opted to rebuild King of Shadows from the ground up on account of how tedious adding and altering functionality that affected each enemy class was, and how difficult coding interaction events between the player and enemy classes was made. The proposed solution to this problem was to have a Parent class for the enemies and make each enemy variant Child classes that inherit common functionality from the Parent class. I also mentioned that I would be creating a Parent class for all of the playable characters which – as with the enemies – would be Child classes inheriting common functionality from the Parent class, this will make adding more playable characters a much more efficient process since I won’t have to go back and copy specific bits of code that affects all characters either player or enemy.

I have begun working on the Parent classes for both the playable characters and the enemies, and while I didn’t do much on it this week, it is one step towards making King of Shadows a better game overall and I can’t wait to show you all what to expect from the final product in the coming weeks.

Last week I also revealed that a remake of Sadistic Shapes was in the works, and I must say I’m super excited to be finally able to test my limits in expanding on the simple yet intense gameplay the original game offered, and of course to bring the best part: the over-the-top gore, into 3D. This week I was able to finish up the enemy Pentagonecrazy, and decided to bring the enemies that are completed on the modelling side of things into UE4 for material setup. Here is how they look in-engine.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also managed to make some solid progress on the boss of the original: Monstar. At the moment it only lacks textures and animations, both of which should be done before next week is over.

Well, that’s all I have for this week, see you all in next week’s update and thanks for following the development of King of Shadows.

Leave a Reply

