King of Shadows – Weekly Update #31

Hey people, got a pretty big announcement to make. I had some suspicions of this before, but after trying to work on the lock-on system this week it’s becoming more and more apparent that there were a few things I did early on in making the functionality for this game that makes adding and changing functionality that applies to multiple characters a pretty inefficient process overall, and also makes interaction between characters more complicated to code.

The main cause of the issues is that every enemy variant is their own independent character class, so if I want to add functionality that applies to multiple enemies (for example, health) then I have to go into each individual enemy and add the health system to each one. And then there’s the problem with the lock-on system where I have to cast a section of the script to the target character class that I want the player to be able to lock the camera onto, I could go in and say “if this enemy exists, then cast to that enemy blueprint” for each class, but again, it’s a very inefficient process. This issue will also extend to any other playable characters I decide to implement, since the current one is its own independent character class and all of them will share some of their functionality in common with each other.

So that’s the issue, but do I have a solution? The answer to that question is yes, and this will seem a bit drastic but bear with me. I intend to rebuild the project from the ground up, this time making the functionality a bit better overall. The biggest planned change is to have a Parent player class and Parent enemy class that contain all of the common functionality the characters will inherit from. So instead of the functionality looking like this

IMG_2517

It will instead look something more like this

IMG_2518

It will be a pretty big setback, but I really believe it will help out in the long run.

On another note, remember that Sadistic Shapes game I posted a few months ago? Well I’m happy to announce that a 3D remake of the game is in the works behind the scenes. As a matter of fact, I’ve already been working on remaking the three basic enemy variants that appeared in the original game. The Pentagonecrazy isn’t complete yet, but the Squeeper and Triangry are pretty much game-ready, and only need a couple of animations to be complete.

SadisticShapes_Enemies_WIP.png

That’s all for this week, see you all in next week’s update and thanks for following the development of King of Shadows.

Leave a Reply

