King of Shadows – Weekly Update #25

Hey people, as I said last week I got started on a couple of the features I said I’d be implementing. I’ve got an early version of the lock-on system to make it a bit easier to hit enemies while using a controller. It is only set up to target the Shadow King at the moment but I’ll be developing it further over the coming weeks.

I also attempted to set up directional flinch based on where the player is hit from but for some reason it isn’t working properly, I’ll try to fix it as soon as possible.

Not much else to report this week in terms of progress on King of Shadows, so I figured I’d also share my progress on my Dark Bowser model import in Super Smash Bros. for Wii U.

I’ve created seven alternate recolours to go along with the main version of Dark Bowser, and I’ve rendered out a pose for the portraits and icons. They will be polished in Photoshop by a good friend of mine to be used in the game.

IMG_2398.JPG

Aside from that, all that’s left to be done before I release the pack is to get the recolours working in-game (which should be a fairly straightforward process since I’ve already got the main colour in) and to create a Giga Dark Bowser model for when he activates his Final Smash, which I have made a quick concept sketch for.

IMG_2409.JPG

This hopefully shouldn’t take too long since for the most part it’s just the top half of the head and the shell being remodelled, the rest of the body can be recoloured from the original Giga Bowser.

That’s all for this week, see you in next week’s update and thanks for following the development of King of Shadows.

Leave a Reply

