King of Shadows – Weekly Update #13

Hey people, didn’t get as much time to work on the game as I thought I would this week but I did manage to get a few things done.

I made some tweaks to a few of the Shadow King’s animations (namely the movement ones) because the way I did them caused weird issues that would cause him to jump back and forth (just look at him running around in the last UE4 video I made to see what I mean). Anyway, that is now fixed and shouldn’t cause any more trouble.

I also added a couple of new attacks to the Shadow King, a kick and a backhand, for when the player gets too close to knock them away.

I know what you’re probably thinking, “Hey, what about the player attack combo you said you’d implement this week?” Well, about that; I was following a tutorial since implementing AI attacks is a different process altogether from implementing a player-controlled attack, especially if you’re trying to have them chain together. In short, the tutorial I was following wasn’t ideal for what I was looking to achieve (since it only allowed for one attack string that was supposed to go through by holding down the attack button rather than rapid inputs of it) and I got a weird error that wouldn’t let the character leave the attack state once initiated. I’ve since removed that functionality and will be trying again this week, this time with a better tutorial that hopefully allows for implementing multiple attack strings.

Anyway, that’s all for this week, see you all in next week’s update.

Leave a Reply

